login   |    register
Ampersand Publishing [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEBSITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

Book Review
135
Modelers Guide to Tiger Tank
Modelers Guide to the Tiger Tank
  • move

by: Adam Mann [ MANNLOON ]

SUMMARY
Highs: Great in depth reference.
Lows: Out of print so very expensive.
Verdict: If you can find it cheap and love Tiger I it's worth the cost.
Percentage Rating
90%
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: MGTT
  PUBLISHED: Mar 14, 2016
  NATIONALITY: Germany
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 78.00%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 92.12%

About Adam Mann (Mannloon)
FROM: WISCONSIN, UNITED STATES

I am a professional video game artist specializing in hard surface modeling and PBR texturing. I started making armor models a few years ago and have been trying since to translate my digital skills to paint and plastic, which isn't always easy. My specialty is German Armor in 1/35.

Copyright 2019 text by Adam Mann [ MANNLOON ]. All rights reserved.



Comments

I've had mine for years now... invaluable to building Tigers as well as the armor fan! I also have the Modelers Guide to the Jagdpanzer as well. Whew... nice to have. Jeff
MAR 17, 2016 - 07:44 PM
How exactly would they go about that? I mean, you can get photos from Bovington and Saumur to show interior layouts of two specific Tigers. But where would you get information about the sequence of changes that happened to the interior? David
MAR 17, 2016 - 08:20 PM
Nope. Wrong. With all due respect to Pat, his statement about the all of the line drawings seen in TMGTTTT being submitted as originals, found in the "Acknowledgements" on Page 2 of the book, isn't exactly truthful. All of the line drawings were originally published in Ground Power Special Issues Feb 2001 and April 2001, predating TMGTTTT by two years: I'm comparing the line drawings in both TMGTTTT and the Feb 2001 Ground Power issue and they are not similar, but the exact same ones. That doesn't mean I don't think that TMGTTTT isn't a good reference, which it certainly is.
MAR 18, 2016 - 06:14 AM
Hey Pat, I had no idea anyone that worked on the book would see the review. I chose to review it because as a newby 2 years ago the book was mentioned by lots of guys and I figured it must have value. If you do an updated Tiger I book I'm sure there are lots of guys around here that would be thrilled and even help out if need be.
MAR 27, 2016 - 10:09 AM
"Nope. Wrong. With all due respect to Pat, his statement about the all of the line drawings seen in TMGTTTT being submitted as originals, found in the "Acknowledgements" on Page 2 of the book, isn't exactly truthful. All of the line drawings were originally published in Ground Power Special Issues Feb 2001 and April 2001, predating TMGTTTT by two years:" It is a fact that the artist sent his original art to us for scanning. The context of that comment was to illustrate that we made some small alterations to the drawings in order to bring them in line with the data reflected in the Jentz books. In addition to appearing in the the Ground Power books, many of the sketches also found their way into the Model Art armor specials. Pat MMiR
APR 03, 2016 - 07:22 PM
How exactly would they go about that? I mean, you can get photos from Bovington and Saumur to show interior layouts of two specific Tigers. But where would you get information about the sequence of changes that happened to the interior? David [/quote] I meant that we would include the model. Pat MMiR
APR 03, 2016 - 07:24 PM
when is the next issue of mmir due?
APR 03, 2016 - 07:46 PM
I've been wondering that myself William. I miss the magazine and have a few more issues to go on my subscription.
APR 03, 2016 - 11:34 PM
Keeping my fingers (and toes) crossed, Mr. Stansell.
APR 08, 2016 - 02:55 PM
   

What's Your Opinion?