login   |    register
Meng Model [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

In-Box Review
135
JagdPanther
Jagdpanther
  • move

by: Sebastian Schoof [ SCHOOF ]

SUMMARY
Highs: - Very well molded details. - Very well molded surface textures. - metal barrel option included.
Lows: The tracks are multi part which is the only reason this kit has a parts count of 975.
Verdict: Looks to be a very nice version of the Jagdpanther although I would opt for some AM tracks.
Percentage Rating
87%
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: TS-039
  PUBLISHED: Aug 20, 2018
  NATIONALITY: Germany
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 84.43%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 89.82%

About Sebastian Schoof (Schoof)
FROM: NOORD-BRABANT, NETHERLANDS

I started modeling in February 2014 because i was looking for a different hobby besides gaming and i found it. Shortly after that i started my YouTube channel "DutchModelling" which i focused on Reviews and Hangouts. I decided that i would review every single kit i could and would get my hands on...

Copyright 2018 text by Sebastian Schoof [ SCHOOF ]. All rights reserved.



Comments

Thanks for the peek; I was hoping that this was the new kit with the full interior but no such luck -who does make that one anyways? Now THAT I do want to see reviewed, perhaps as a build article some time soon.
AUG 20, 2018 - 12:19 PM
Except for the tracks, it looks like a nice kit. They have included three of the four different gun recess options. It looks as though the metal barrel is only useful if building the 2-piece version (post June 1944). If you want to build a one piece barrel version (installed through November 1944), you have to use the plastic part. Since there is no zimmerit option, you can only build a post September 1944 version, out of the box. Which matches the versions on the painting guide. Any earlier version requires zimmerit. You will have to scratch it, or buy an aftermarket option when/if one becomes available.
AUG 20, 2018 - 05:55 PM
This is a VERY NICE kit ! Clear instructions and the fit is top notch. I've only used a tiny bit of filler and that's probably on me. Last night before bed I assembled the fighting compartment, EXCELLENT. I salute Meng for their dovetail approach to the upper hull, just like the real thing ! Flame cut marks and everything ! Not looking forward to the tracks though, the track & 2 guide horns x 87 per side. This will make a good Winter project snipping, cleaning carefully gluing the guide horns. No ejector pin marks on the track faces ! If you ever want to build a Jagdpanther get this one ! You won't be disappointed. Thanks Sebastian for another awesome, well produced review !
AUG 20, 2018 - 11:21 PM
UPDATE: First instruction hiccup, working on rear storage bin there's a convoy pace light (don't know the right term for it) in the exploded assembly drawings PART B32 is shown one way but in all other drawings it's a 180 degree flip. Flipped is the way I'm going. My only reference photo of it is a mangled storage box and it's tough to tell the orientation. I'm using the excellent but old MMiR Modeler's Guide to the Jagdpanzer for a general reference. ALL of MMiR's Modeler Guides should be re-released IMHO !
AUG 21, 2018 - 12:44 AM
I got this kit a few weeks ago...looks ok.
SEP 06, 2018 - 11:33 PM
This pic is from Panzer Tracts 9-3, page 9-3-54. It shows the mounting of the convoy light to the left storage bin.
SEP 07, 2018 - 04:34 PM
Thanks Mark !
SEP 09, 2018 - 06:36 AM
We broke our quick reply box. Working on it. Until fixed go to topic to reply.
Thanks.
   

What's Your Opinion?