login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Site Talk
Site announcements, comments, or feedback about the site.
JIM NEEDS A BIG FAVOR !
165thspc
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
Joined: April 13, 2011
KitMaker: 6,531 posts
Armorama: 6,370 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 01:25 AM GMT+7
Of course . . . . .

that's like asking if computers have their own language
Vodnik
Visit this Community
Warszawa, Poland
Joined: March 26, 2003
KitMaker: 4,096 posts
Armorama: 3,695 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 01:10 AM GMT+7
Zombi thread!

Do zombies have their own language?...
165thspc
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
Joined: April 13, 2011
KitMaker: 6,531 posts
Armorama: 6,370 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 12:49 AM GMT+7
Gentlemen:

Are there other type style commands we may not know of?

I know when composing a thread response how to create bold face type and italics type and bold italics but are there other style commands we might also have access to?

A "no print" command might be nice - I sometimes try to center a photo on the page or space out two smaller photos side by side. I use reader dots or dashes to push the photo out into the center of the page (using the space bar in this case does not work) but it would be nice to be able to get these spacer characters to not show.

Example:
- - - - - - - - - - - -

The only other things I can think of at this time would be the ability to underline our letters or perhaps a "strike thru" command to show that an earlier statement has been found to be in error.

Thank you

Mike Koenig
165thspc

p.s. Have done a fair amount of typesetting, composition and design layout work in my career so I think about things like this.
bison126
Visit this Community
Aube, France
Joined: June 10, 2004
KitMaker: 4,772 posts
Armorama: 4,648 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 03:26 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

This thread is from 2004, so some things might have changed.

I would have thought a language setting would be in the usual user settings.



Well Gary, I didn't even notice that. Shame on me
GaryKato
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 06, 2004
KitMaker: 3,101 posts
Armorama: 2,387 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017 - 11:01 PM GMT+7
This thread is from 2004, so some things might have changed.

I would have thought a language setting would be in the usual user settings.
bison126
Visit this Community
Aube, France
Joined: June 10, 2004
KitMaker: 4,772 posts
Armorama: 4,648 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017 - 09:19 PM GMT+7

Quoted Text

You need to go to the main Forums page and above the table with six main forums on the right edge of the screen, there is a "button": SET YOUR LANGUAGES. You need to go there and there select English and Hebrew from the list (hold CTRL to select two languages) and click SET LANGUAGES. Then you will see messages in English and in Hebrew - including the one you just added!

Cheers,
Pawel



Pawel,
here is what I get on the main forum page. No Set your Languages button.

bison126
Visit this Community
Aube, France
Joined: June 10, 2004
KitMaker: 4,772 posts
Armorama: 4,648 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017 - 09:02 PM GMT+7
Sorry Jim but I don' get your point. I'm getting old and I need long explanations for sure to understand some things

Basically when I come to Armorama my intend is to get in contact with a lot of people through a shared language, English whatever form it takes (Oxford English, US English, Pidgin, Globish ...).

If I need to speak to French speaking people I simply use French language forums. So I really don't see the interest of posting here in French.

But again, I'm open to your explanation for such a need.

Olivier
aaron88
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
Joined: August 19, 2017
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 1 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017 - 07:28 PM GMT+7
I think this might help: Spanish to English
csch
Visit this Community
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Joined: December 27, 2002
KitMaker: 1,941 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 10:03 AM GMT+7
Intentaré nuevamente con el foro en Español. Saludos amigos.
flitzer
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
Joined: November 13, 2003
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 808 posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 05:07 AM GMT+7
Well all right then.

I know....
Rule 1.
Admin is always right.
Rule 2
When all other rules are in doubt, Rule 1 applies.

LOL....
Cheers
Peter
:-) :-)
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,345 posts
Armorama: 6,564 posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 12:42 AM GMT+7
Peter,
Lol...but there is a tiny loophole in the site policy which states that site ADMINS may use all caps when they need to communicate something important.

Cheers,
Jim
flitzer
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
Joined: November 13, 2003
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 808 posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 12:23 AM GMT+7
Hi Jim....
I would like to point out that using all Caps is not allowed...you naughty boy....please stay after school and write a hundred times...
"Jim must not do what he tells others not to do"

:-) :-) :-)

Capital punishment


Cheers
Peter
GeneralFailure
Visit this Community
European Union
Joined: February 15, 2002
KitMaker: 2,288 posts
Armorama: 1,230 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 04:04 PM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Ok here we go....The Dutch Socks that got lost in a dryer....

Ik ben m'n sokken kwijtgeraakt in een droogtrommel....



O jee... waren dat JOUW sokken ?
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,345 posts
Armorama: 6,564 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 12, 2004 - 10:39 PM GMT+7
Thanks guys (and gals). We now have 5 more languages then we had before.

I know I need to do more to call out these topics to those who may not have their multi-language settings correct. I may build a "primary lang" and "secondary lang" fields into the country table so that users from France for example would get a callout to any French posts. As would users from Canada.

Thanks again!
Jim
druid
Visit this Community
Finland
Joined: December 28, 2003
KitMaker: 211 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, June 11, 2004 - 02:47 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text


Ola hyvä Druid...



Tack ska du ha. Jag vill också observera de svenska diskussioner. (can understand some, not write so much).


Quoted Text

It's stickied.

Also if you want to see all members from Finland (there are actually quite a few). You can access them from your member profile page. Just click "Finland" next to the flag image.



Ta muchly. I didn't know there are 29 of us! And not one has replied in the roll call. Hopefully they will notice this new feature soon.
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,345 posts
Armorama: 6,564 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 12:48 PM GMT+7
It's stickied.

Also if you want to see all members from Finland (there are actually quite a few). You can access them from your member profile page. Just click "Finland" next to the flag image.

Cheers,
Jim
HunterCottage
#116
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
Joined: December 19, 2001
KitMaker: 1,715 posts
Armorama: 629 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 12:01 PM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Would it be possible to sticky the Finnish roll call thread? I notice the Swedish one is sticky and that's a pretty good idea. (a tip of the hat for that goes to my neighbours )



Ola hyvä Druid...

But also for Jim I did what he was asking: click here for an attempt at Norwegian...
druid
Visit this Community
Finland
Joined: December 28, 2003
KitMaker: 211 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 11:52 AM GMT+7
Would it be possible to sticky the Finnish roll call thread? I notice the Swedish one is sticky and that's a pretty good idea. (a tip of the hat for that goes to my neighbours )
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,345 posts
Armorama: 6,564 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 10:37 AM GMT+7
My thanks to the 4 people who actually did what I was asking.

For the rest:

hehe

Jim
SOW1
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
Joined: January 31, 2003
KitMaker: 289 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 07:29 AM GMT+7
Ik leer langzaam van FAUST * giggles * en ik gebruik een vertalersprogramma voor wat ik dat niet kan herinneren die hij me.lol heeft onderwezen
:-)
GreyHunter
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Joined: March 10, 2002
KitMaker: 1,551 posts
Armorama: 994 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 06:23 AM GMT+7
Hi Lady Anne,

Where did you learn the Dutch? It's a bit rusty but understandable.

Gr,
Marcel
druid
Visit this Community
Finland
Joined: December 28, 2003
KitMaker: 211 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 03:15 AM GMT+7
I added a topic in yet another language. Problem is that no one will see it unless they adjust their default language(s).
SOW1
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
Joined: January 31, 2003
KitMaker: 289 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 10, 2004 - 02:41 AM GMT+7
Γειάσου τα γλυκά μου αυτό είναι ι, το τρελλό linguist.lol σοβαρά jim που θα δοκιμάσω και θέση σε όλα τα φόρουμ των διαφορετικών γλωσσών εάν μπορώ να πάρω το σωστό πρόγραμμα.
Hey it's all Greek to me! hehehehehehehehehe :-)
Plasticbattle
#003
Visit this Community
Donegal, Ireland
Joined: May 14, 2002
KitMaker: 9,759 posts
Armorama: 7,440 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 09, 2004 - 05:41 PM GMT+7
Án bhfuil cad agam scríobh i gaelige? Thúigean tú mó céist? Slán agus beanneaíocht!


Quoted Text

Jag vet inte riktig vad han menar men min torktumlare äter alltid mina strumpor...


Jag har nästan ingen strumpor kvar heller! Vad jag har, är en av varje färg!
Joey
Visit this Community
Jerusalem, Israel
Joined: October 15, 2003
KitMaker: 90 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 09, 2004 - 12:19 PM GMT+7
YEAH!!! I understand the site again.
Thanks for the help Jim. :-)
A very happy Yonaton