The new twin-axle motor cars numbered 601 to 674 were delivered tothe Nuremberg-Fürth Tram Company between 1912 and 1914. this was a more sophisticated version of the 200 series build from 1904 to 1906.The superstructure was made entirely of wood, as was customary at the time. To comply with the rules on a minimum distance between trams passing on bends, the platforms had to be tapered off and rounded at the front. During the 1920s, the lavish art nouveau decoration was increasingly simplified. In 1937 the company decided on a technical and visual modernisation on Cars 653 - 674. Engine power was increased. The electrical braking system was adapted and fronts were restructured, complete with destination and route indicators. Due to Second World War, the other units in the series don`t underwent this modernization, with the exception of No. 645. From 1941 vehicles gradually began acquiring the new ivory livery that had been declared throughout the Reich. After Second World War, cars from the 600 series were confined to peripheral routes. From 1954 they began conversion into utility vehicles. The first of them were scrapped in 1956, and the last in 1966.The 600 series saw its last scheduled service on September 1, 1960. Almost every car had covered 2.5 million kilometres (about 1.5 million miles).
Copyright ©2019 by Hans-Hermann Bühling. Images and/or videos also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. The views and opinions expressed herein are solely the views and opinions of the authors and/or contributors to this Web site and do not necessarily represent the views and/or opinions of Armorama, KitMaker Network, or Silver Star Enterrpises. All rights reserved. Originally published on: 2016-02-11 12:54:18. Unique Reads: 14403